My Thoughts On Gwen Stefani’s New Album ‘This is What the Truth Feels Like”


target_cover500So, I was recently lucky enough to snag an early copy of Gwen Stefani’s new, long awaited album “This is What The Truth Feels Like”. It has been several years since Gwen’s last album and I was certainly curious about how her music would have changed this go-around.

The album – which released on March 18th (with exclusive tracks if you purchase from Target) definitely sheds light on a softer facet of the strong minded, woman power driven Gwen that we all know and love.

This albums songs are all different and unique in their own right – but have a reoccurring theme in them – the songs are very personal and each one discusses ideas and feelings that so many will relate to – but not everyone is brave enough to talk about. Obsession, hurt, pain, fantasy – it’s all there rolled up in one small package with Gwen’s face on it.

I can’t lie – It’s a great album. I think the thing that I love so much about this album is the variety. There are some awesome slower songs – there are some poppish songs – there areGS_Profile_ImageHI500 songs with an R&B and rap theme to them. All with Gwen’s unique take on the Genre’s

That’s the thing about Gwen – she is always pushing the envelope – her music is always evolving. I mean I will always be a huge NO DOUBT fan – but as a solo artist Gwen has continued to grow and evolve in her music and while people my age will appreciate another album from an artist we love and grew up listening to – the younger generation will also appreciate these songs as well.

Personally – my three favorite tracks on the Album were ‘Misery’, ‘Truth’ and ‘Used to Love You’ I found them both uplifting, upbeat and sentimentally thought provoking. Check ‘Used to Love You’ and ‘Misery’ below – It really is a great song – and most can relate to it in some way or another.

“Used To Love You”

The Song List for this album is as follows:

  • Misery
  • You’re My Favorite
  • Where Would I Be
  • Make Me Like You
  • Truth
  • Used to Love You
  • Send Me a Picture
  • Red Flag
  • Asking for It
  • Naughty
  • Me Without You
  • Rare

Remember – If you purchase the Exclusive Target Version of the Album you will also get 4 Exclusive tracks

  • Rocketship
  • Getting Warmer
  • Obsessed
  • Splash

If you are interested in checking out this Album you can Pre-Order your copy online at TARGET or purchase on iTunes

You can also purchase online directly through the Gwen Stefani Website

Here’s another video – Just Because we Love You! Don’t forget to share this post with friends on Social Media using #ThisIsWhatTheTruthFeelsLike AND #GwenO2O

“Misery” (Lyric Video)
More Links to get your Gwen fix

Twitter: https://twitter.com/gwenstefani

Official Webstie: https://www.gwenstefani.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/gwenstefani

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/GwenStefaniVEVO

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/gwenstefani/

I participated in this sponsored album review program as a member of One2One
Network. I was provided the album to review but all opinions are my own.
Posted on March 21, 2016, in Frugal Life. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I love music that comes right from.the heart. To me it has more meaning and connects more with the listeners. Can’t wait to hear the songs.

    Like

  2. I love Gwen! Always have for a very long time! And her new song, “I used to love you”, is one of my favs from her new album! I’ve heard this song several times and love it!

    Like

  3. I’ve been a Gwen Stefani fan since her No Doubt days. I am glad this album is a bit more personal. Everyone knows this past year has been full of huge life changes and it is good that she used her music to voice this and share with her fans.

    Like

What Are Your Thoughts?

